Rape Lawyer in Immokalee Florida
Rape is considered as the use of force someone implements to have non-consensual intercourse with another person. In Florida, rape is considered a second-degree felony and is punishable by up to 15 years in prison, 15 years of sex offender probation, and up to a $10,000 fine. The minimum sentence for this crime is 7 ¾ years in prison and two years of sex offender probation. However, the charges change if the perpetrator used a weapon during the assault, which is considered a first-degree felony. This type of felony can result in a prison sentence of up to 30 years, sex offender probation for 30 years, and a $10,000 fine.
Charges for Underaged Victims
If the victim is between the ages of 12 and 18, then the perpetrator will be charged with life in prison, with the possibility of parole if convicted. However, if the victim is a minor under the age of 12, then the charges can result in life in prison without the possibility of parole.
Sex Offender Registration
Florida state law requires that individuals convicted of rape crimes must register as sex offenders. You may petition the court to be exempted from this requirement if you fall under the “Romeo and Juliet” exception, described below. (Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 943.0435, 943.04354 (2018).)
What to do if You Face Charges or If you are a Victim
Abogado Guerrero is an excellent defense law firm that offers free consultations. We keep everything with our clients confidential and provide the best advice. We believe that rape charges can destroy a person’s life and reputation. Contact us now 239-682-8055.