Battery Charges in Immokalee Florida
Under Florida law, battery is considered a first-degree misdemeanor. Penalties may include but are not limited to one year in jail or 12 months probation and a $1,000 fine. In all battery cases, it is important to prove intent and consent. In other words, it is essential to state how the battery occurred, with or without the consent of the alleged victim, or against the person’s will.
The issue of consent is examined in light of the surrounding circumstances. The victim will be required to give a testimony that they did not give consent of the touching as well as providing evidence that supports their case. In some cases, evidence of a defendant’s prior violent behaviors toward the victim is relevant to prove their intent to commit the crime of battery or the alleged victim’s lack of consent. At the same time, in a battery case, an accused offender does not have to physically injure the alleged victim. Intentional touching against another person’s will is sufficient. Since there are existing allegations that the victim was touched against their will, then the extent of injury becomes irrelevant.
What is considered Battery?
Any intentional touching, striking, punching, is considered simple battering if it doesn’t include a weapon of any kind, bodily injury, or domestic violence. If you are a victim of a battery case or have been wrongfully convicted as an abuser call Abogado Guerrero immediately. Our lawyers are ready to hear your case and look for a solution for you. Schedule a FREE Consultation at (239) 682-8055 to learn how we can help you.